ACADEMIC SENATE OFFICE



CALL FOR NOMINATIONS Membership on the Committee on Committees (4 openings) At-large Member, Division Council (1 opening)

April 24, 2014

To: MEMBERS OF THE MERCED DIVISION ACADEMIC SENATE

Now is the time to nominate your colleagues!

In accordance with Merced Bylaws, an election will be held on **Tuesday**, **May 13, 2014**. There are four (4) vacancies to be filled for the Committee on Committees (CoC) and one (1) opening for an At-large member of the Division Council. Those elected will take office on August 21, 2014. Election ballots will be distributed electronically.

The Committee on Committees (CoC) makes appointments to all Senate Standing and Special Committees. The role of CoC in constituting Senate committees is crucial in shaping the nature of shared governance on this campus. This year there are four (4) CoC vacancies to be filled.

Elected CoC members whose two-year term expires on August 20, 2014:

Ajay Gopinathan, School of Natural Sciences Linda Cameron, School of Social Sciences, Humanities and Arts Jinah Choi, School of Natural Sciences Ashlie Martini, School of Engineering

Elected CoC members remaining on the committee through August 20, 2015: Patricia LiWang, School of Natural Sciences Kara McCloskey, School of Engineering Erik Menke, School of Natural Sciences Kevin Mitchell, School of Natural Sciences

<u>**The At-large Members</u>** are voting members of the Division Council. One At-Large Member represents the Merced Division at the System-wide Assembly of the Academic Senate meetings.</u>

Elected At-Large Member whose term ends August 20, 2014: Paul Maglio, School of Engineering

Elected At-Large Member remaining on the committee through August 20, 2015: *Robin DeLugan, School of Social Sciences, Humanities and Arts*

Each Nominating petition must be signed by five (5) Senate members and must contain certification of acceptance by the nominee. Nominating petitions are to be returned to the Academic Senate Office no later than 5 p.m. Friday, May 2, 2014.

Rick Dale, Chair Rules and Elections Committee Secretary/Parliamentarian