## UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, MERCED

BERKELEY • DAVIS • IRVINE • LOS ANGELES • MERCED • RIVERSIDE • SAN DIEGO • SAN FRANCISCO



SANTA BARBARA • SANTA CRUZ

OFFICE OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE, MERCED DIVISION DIVISIONAL COUNCIL

UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, MERCED

September 10, 2021

Dear Colleagues,

In lieu of our past tradition of a welcome letter each Fall semester from the Senate Chair, this Fall the Divisional Council is jointly sending this note to welcome you all to campus for the 2021-22 Academic year.

After the many challenges we have risen to confront over the past couple of years, we realize that many of us may be beginning the year with some cumulative fatigue, and we empathize with those who may feel some anxiety coming back to work in person this Fall amidst the lingering effects of the COVID-19 pandemic. In our consultations with the administration, we see signs for optimism regarding our reopening: campus vaccinations rates are currently over 90%, campus test positivity rates continue to be very low, and compliance with on-campus masking and social distancing measures is very good. We will continue to monitor the situation throughout the year, and contingency plans are in place should conditions warrant a change from our present course.

In addition to responding to the exigencies of the pandemic, ordinary business of the Senate, and whatever surprises may lay in store for us, we want to assure you that the Divisional Council and relevant Senate Committees will stay focused on working with the Faculty and Administration throughout the year to identify and rectify ongoing challenges to the conduct of research on campus.

We are deeply grateful for your patience and resilience as we work together to build a campus that works well for everyone.

Best regards,

Divisional Council
LeRoy Westerling, Senate Chair
Patti LiWang, Senate Vice Chair
Ramesh Balasubramaniam, CAP Chair
Abbas Ghassemi, AFAC Chair
Erin Hestir, GC Chair
David Jennings, FWAF Chair
Kevin Mitchell, CAPRA Chair
Holley Moyes, UGC Chair
Jesus Sandoval-Hernandez, EDI Chair
Jason Sexton, COR Chair

Christopher Viney, Secretary/Parliamentarian, CRE Chair Jeffrey Butler, At-Large Justin Yeakel, At-Large Min Hwan Lee, At-Large