UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, MERCED

ACADEMIC SENATE



Wednesday, February 21, 2024

2023-2024 Senate Award for Distinguished Scholarly Public Service

The Senate Award for Distinguished Scholarly Public Service is intended to recognize faculty members who have energetically and creatively applied their professional expertise and scholarship to benefit the local, regional, national, or international community. The Distinguished Scholarly Public Service Award is based on the Senate's confidence in the university's tradition of excellence and demonstrates the commitment of the Merced campus to scholarly public service. A list of previous recipients is provided on page 3 and is available at https://senate.ucmerced.edu/previous senate awardees.

Eligibility

All members of the Academic Senate, including all Senate faculty rank and title who have not previously won the award are eligible. Previous nominees who have not won the award may be nominated again.

Criteria for Award

Scholarly public service is an organized activity that extends a faculty member's expertise in teaching, research or professional competence beyond the university campus into local, statewide, national, or international public arenas. For purposes of this award, distinguished scholarly public service is the unpaid, focused, and sustained direct extension of a faculty member's disciplinary or technical expertise to the public and non-profit sector. Service resulting in significant monetary gain (private consulting) is not considered public service for this purpose, nor is service performed as a private citizen (membership in local service clubs) or as an elected public official (city council). The candidate's public service while employed elsewhere will be considered, but the extent of public service while a faculty member at UC Merced will be the primary factor in the evaluation.

Typically, public service is comprised of activities such as these:

- 1. Testifying before international, federal, state or local legislative, executive or judicial hearings, meetings, boards or commissions.
- 2. Consultations, advice, and recommendations to government boards, commissions, or agencies.
- 3. Membership on boards, commissions or special committees of international, federal, state or local bodies.
- 4. Research for or collaboration with public agencies, commissions, boards, task forces or committees.

- 5. Leadership role in service to community groups, non-profit organizations and the general public in meetings, workshops, and conferences, including presentations to these, or through the media.
- 6. Development and dissemination of information of state, national and/or international importance through the production of non-profit documentary videos or films.

Nomination Process

Nominations should be in the form of a letter (not to exceed two single-spaced, typewritten pages) providing a comprehensive summary of the qualities and accomplishments that would warrant the candidate to be considered for the award. **The letter should focus on the scope and impact of the public service efforts** and should detail the special characteristics that extend the nominee's expertise and set them apart from other faculty, such as their philosophy, objectives, or impact. If the service did result in financial gain, please describe. The committee considers nominations with long-term as well as short-term distinguished scholarly public service. The nominator should ensure that documentary evidence is available; however, supporting materials should not be attached to this nomination. **Nominations should be submitted electronically as one PDF packet to the Chair of the Academic Senate (senatechair@ucmerced.edu) with a copy to (senateoffice@ucmerced.edu), and must include the following:**

- 1. A nomination form.
- 2. **One nomination letter** (maximum of two pages) that highlights the outstanding contributions of the nominee to distinguished public service. This letter should be written by a UCM senate faculty member who is familiar with the nominee's accomplishments.
- 3. **Two supporting letters** (suggested length one to two pages) specifically solicited for this nomination.
 - One letter is written by a faculty member.
 - One letter is written by an individual who has an appropriate professional background to comment on the nominee's accomplishments.
- 4. Nominee's current and complete curriculum vitae.

Selection Process

The Senate <u>Committee on Committees</u> (CoC) will form an ad-hoc committee from its membership to serve as the CoC Awards Committee with a minimum of three faculty. The CoC Awards Committee will have balanced representation from a range of academic areas and broad school representation. If additional expertise is needed, non-CoC committee members will be appointed by the CoC Chair. The CoC Awards Committee reserves the right to not give an award if there is an insufficient number of nominees, or if nominees do not meet the above criteria for the award.

Based on the initial letters of nomination, the CoC Awards Committee will select a slate of finalists from the pool of nominees. Supporting materials for the finalists may be solicited. All materials and notes will be held in confidence by the CoC Awards Committee.

The CoC Awards Committee will review the nominations and members will submit their firstchoice candidate or their recommendation that no award is merited, to the Chair of the Awards Committee, with a brief justification for either case. The Awards Committee will select a recipient based on a majority vote. The CoC Awards Committee will complete its selection process and inform the Chair of the Academic Senate (senatechair@ucmerced.edu) and the Senate Office (senateoffice@ucmerced.edu) of the results. On the recommendation of the Awards Committee, any finalist may be nominated for the award the following year.

Deadline for Nominations: 5:00 pm, Friday, March 22, 2024.

The announcement of the recipient will be made during the UC Merced Spring <u>Meeting of the</u> <u>Division</u>.

Past Recipients

- 2022-2023 Colleen Naughton
- 2021-2022 Edward Orozco Flores
- 2020-2021 <u>Anna Song</u>
- 2019-2020 Mayya Tokman
- 2018-2019 Katrina Hoyer
- 2017-2018 YangQuan Chen
- 2016-2017 Katherine Steele Brokaw
- 2015-2016 <u>Paul Brown</u>
- 2014-2015 Robin DeLugan
- 2013-2014 Linda Cameron
- 2012-2013 Tanya Golash-Boza
- 2011-2012 Jan Wallander