UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, MERCED

ACADEMIC SENATE



Wednesday, February 5, 2020

2019-2020 Dr. Fred Spiess Award for Distinguished Service to the Academic Senate

The Spiess Award was created to recognize a member of the faculty who has performed outstanding service to the Academic Senate (campus and/or systemwide) and whose contributions have had a major impact on faculty governance. Its broader goal is to honor all members of faculty (including Emeriti/ae Senate members) who have contributed their time and talent to the Senate. A list of previous recipients is enclosed and available at https://senate.ucmerced.edu/previous_senate_awardees.

Eligibility

All members of the Academic Senate, including all Senate faculty rank and title who have not previously won the award are eligible. Previous nominees who have not won the award may be nominated again.

Criteria for Award

- 1. A faculty member is limited to one award per lifetime.
- 2. The award is designed to honor a University of California faculty member who has demonstrated:
 - Outstanding and creative contributions as evidenced by major impact on faculty governance.
 - Sustained excellence in serving the Academic Senate.
 - Exceptional abilities in working effectively with different university constituents.

Nomination Process

All Senate members are eligible for nomination by other members of the Academic Senate. Initial nominations should be in the form of a letter (not to exceed two single-spaced, typewritten pages) providing a comprehensive summary of the qualities and accomplishments that would warrant the candidate to be considered for the award. *The letter should focus on the scope and impact of the Senate service efforts* and should detail the special characteristics that extend the nominee's expertise and sets him or her apart from other faculty, such as his or her philosophy, objectives, or impact. The committee considers nominations with long-term as well as short-term distinguished service to the Academic Senate. The nominator should ensure that documentary evidence is available; however, supporting material should not be attached to this nomination.

Nominations should be submitted electronically as one PDF packet to the Office of the Academic Senate (senateoffice@ucmerced.edu) and must include the following:

- 1. A nomination form.
- 2. **One nomination letter** (maximum of two pages) that highlights the outstanding

contributions of the nominee to the Academic Senate (campus and/or systemwide) and whose contributions have had a major impact on faculty governance. This letter should be written by a UCM faculty member who is familiar with the nominee's accomplishments in these areas.

- 3. **Two supporting letters** (suggested length two pages) specifically solicited for this nomination.
 - a. One letter is written by a faculty member
 - b. One letter is written by an individual who is familiar with the nominee's accomplishments.
- 4. Nominee's current and complete curriculum vitae.

Selection Process

The Senate Committee on Committees (CoC) will form an ad-hoc committee from its membership to serve as the CoC Awards Committee with a minimum of three faculty. The CoC Awards Committee will have balanced representation from different academic areas. If additional expertise is needed, non-CoC committee members will be appointed by CoC. The CoC Awards Committee reserves the right to not give an award if there is an insufficient number of nominees, or if nominees do not meet the above criteria for the award.

Based on the nomination materials, the CoC Awards Committee will select a slate of finalists from the pool of nominees. Supporting materials for the finalists may be solicited. All materials and notes will be held in confidence by the CoC Awards Committee.

The CoC Awards Committee will review the nominations and members will submit their first choice candidate or their recommendation that no award is merited, to the Chair of the CoC Awards Committee, with a brief justification for either case. The Awards Committee will select a recipient based on majority vote. In exceptional circumstances and with clear justifications, the Awards Committee may select no more than two recipients. The Awards Committee will complete its selection process and inform the Office of the Academic Senate (senateoffice@ucmerced.edu) of the results. On the recommendation of the Awards Committee, any finalist may be nominated for the following year.

Deadline for Nominations: 5:00pm, Monday, March 9, 2020.

The announcement of the recipient will be made on **Thursday**, **May 7**, **2020** during the UC Merced Meeting of the Division.

Past Recipients

2018-2019 – No nominations received by the Senate

2017-2018 - Anne Zanzucchi

2016-2017 – Susan Amussen

2015-2016 - No nominations received by the Senate

 $2014\text{-}2015 - \underline{William\ Shadish}$

 $2013\text{-}2014 - \underline{Peggy\ O'Day}$

2012-2013 - Valerie Leppert

2011-2012 – <u>Chris Kello</u>

2010-2011 – <u>Evan Heit</u>

 $2009\text{-}2010 - \underline{Martha\ Conklin}$

2008-2009 – Shawn Kantor