UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, MERCED

ACADEMIC SENATE OFFICE



Wednesday, February 21, 2024

2023-2024 Senate Award for Excellence in Faculty Mentorship

The Senate Award for Excellence in Faculty Mentorship is intended to encourage and recognize individual excellence in faculty mentorship. Any Senate faculty member is eligible to receive this award. A list of previous recipients is provided on pages 2 and 3 and available at https://senate.ucmerced.edu/previous_senate_awardees.

Eligibility

All members of the Academic Senate, including all Senate faculty rank and title who have not previously won the award are eligible. Previous nominees who have not won the award may be nominated again.

Criteria for Award

The qualities that distinguish excellent faculty mentorship are highly variable across disciplines. In general, excellent faculty mentorship can be defined by the following traits:

- Successful mentoring of individual faculty and Unit 18 lecturers as shown by the mentees' record of success.
- Creating a positive environment where faculty can flourish.

Nomination Process

Nominations for the Senate Award for Excellence in Faculty Mentorship will be accepted from Senate faculty members and Unit 18 lecturers. Nominations will also be accepted from faculty with administrative appointments, including Deans. The nomination should discuss how the faculty nominee meets the criteria listed above.

Nominations should be submitted electronically as <u>one PDF packet</u> to the Chair of the Academic Senate (<u>senatechair@ucmerced.edu</u>) with a copy to (<u>senateoffice@ucmerced.edu</u>), and must include the following:

- 1) A nomination form.
- One nomination letter (maximum of two pages) that highlights the outstanding contributions of the nominee to UCM in faculty mentorship. This letter should be written by a UCM faculty member who is familiar with the nominee's accomplishments in these areas. Faculty with administrative appointments (e.g. Deans) may serve as nominators.
- 3) **Two supporting letters** (suggested length one to two pages) specifically solicited for this nomination.
 - a. One letter is written by a faculty member.

b. One letter is written by an individual who is familiar with the nominee's accomplishments.

4) Nominee's current and complete curriculum vitae.

Selection Process

The Senate Committee on Faculty Welfare and Academic Freedom (FWAF) will form an ad hoc committee from its membership to serve as the FWAF Awards Committee with a minimum of three Senate faculty. The FWAF Awards Committee will have balanced representation from different academic areas. If additional expertise is needed, non-FWAF committee members will be appointed by the FWAF Chair. The FWAF Awards Committee reserves the right to not give an award if there is an insufficient number of nominees, or if nominees do not meet the above criteria for the award.

Based on the nomination materials, the FWAF Awards Committee will select a slate of finalists from the pool of nominees. Supporting materials for the finalists may be solicited. All materials and notes will be held in confidence by the FWAF Awards Committee.

The FWAF Awards Committee will review the nominations and members will submit their first-choice candidate or their recommendation that no award is merited, to the Chair of the FWAF Awards Committee, with a brief justification for either case. The FWAF Awards Committee will review nominees and select a recipient based on majority vote. The FWAF Awards Committee will complete its selection process and inform the Chair of the Academic Senate (senatechair@ucmerced.edu) and the Senate Office (senatechair@ucmerced.edu) and the Senate Office (senatechair@ucmerced.edu) of the results. On the recommendation of the Awards Committee, any finalist may be nominated for the award the following year.

Deadline for Nominations: 5:00pm, Friday, March 22, 2024.

The announcement of the recipient will be made during the UC Merced Spring Meeting of the Division.

Past Recipients

2022-2023 – No nominations received by the Senate

2021-2022 – Josh Viers

2020-2021 - Ashlie Martini

2019-2020 – Arnold Kim

2018-2019 – Tanya Golash-Boza

2017-2018 – Marcos García-Ojeda

2016-2017 – Miguel Carreira-Perpiñán

2015-2016 - Teenie Matlock

2014-2015 – <u>Jennifer Manilay</u>