SENATE ELECTION

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

Membership on the <u>Committee on Committees</u> (4 openings) At-Large Members, <u>Divisional Council</u> (2 openings)

January 23, 2025

TO: MEMBERS OF THE MERCED DIVISION ACADEMIC SENATE

In accordance with the <u>Merced Division Bylaws</u>, an election will be held on **Friday**, **February 14**, **2025**, for four (4) members of the Committee on Committees and two (2) At-Large members of the Divisional Council of the Merced Academic Senate. Those elected will take office on **Wednesday**, **August 20**, **2025**.

The <u>Committee on Committees</u> (CoC) makes appointments to all Senate Standing and Special Committees. The role of CoC in constituting Senate committees is crucial in shaping the nature of shared governance on this campus. This year there are four (4) CoC vacancies to be filled.

Elected CoC members whose two-year terms expire on Tuesday, August 19, 2025

- Laura Beaster-Jones, School of Natural Sciences
- Tyler Marghetis, School of Social Sciences, Humanities and Arts
- Lisa Yeo, School of Engineering (Chair)
- Maria-Elena Young, School of Social Sciences, Humanities and Arts

Elected CoC members remaining on the committee until Tuesday, August 18, 2026

- Mayra Bamaca, School of Social Sciences, Humanities and Arts
- Roummel Marcia, School of Natural Sciences
- Victor Muñoz, School of Engineering (Vice Chair)
- Jesus Sandoval-Hernandez, School of Social Sciences, Humanities and Arts

The <u>At-Large Members</u> are voting members of the Divisional Council (DivCo). One At-Large Member represents the Merced Division at meetings of the <u>Systemwide Assembly of the Academic Senate</u>.

Elected DivCo At-Large Members whose terms expire on Tuesday, August 19, 2025

- Sarah Depaoli, School of Social Sciences, Humanities and Arts
- Muey Saeteurn, School of Social Sciences, Humanities and Arts

Elected DivCo At-Large Member remaining on DivCo until Tuesday, August 18, 2026

Shilpa Khatri, Representative, Assembly of the Academic Senate, School of Natural Sciences

Each Nominating petition must (i) be signed by three (3) Senate faculty members of the Merced Division, (ii) contain a certification of acceptance by the nominee, and (iii) include a brief biography (approx. 120 words).

Nominating petitions are to be returned to the Academic Senate Office (<u>senateoffice@ucmerced.edu</u>) by no later than **5:00 pm, Thursday, February 6, 2025.**

Jeffrey Yoshimi Secretary/Parliamentarian Chair, Committee on Rules and Elections