# UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, MERCED

# ACADEMIC SENATE



#### Wednesday, February 21, 2024

# 2023 – 2024 Senate Faculty Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award

This Senate Award is intended to encourage and recognize individual excellence in teaching at the undergraduate level. A list of previous recipients is provided on page 3 and available at <a href="https://senate.ucmerced.edu/previous\_senate\_awardees">https://senate.ucmerced.edu/previous\_senate\_awardees</a>.

#### Eligibility

All members of the Academic Senate, including all Senate faculty rank and title who have not previously won the award are eligible. Previous nominees who have not won the award may be nominated again.

# Criteria for Award

- 1. A faculty member is limited to one award per lifetime.
- 2. The award may be given in recognition of outstanding instructional activities during a single year or over multiple years.
- 3. The award is limited to distinguished undergraduate teaching and instructional activities.
- 4. The award may be given in recognition of a broad range of contributions to the instructional program at UC Merced, including the following criteria:
  - Command of the subject and the ability to present it cogently.
  - Evidence for innovation or exceptional accomplishments related to instruction.
  - Enthusiasm and vitality in learning and teaching.
  - Ability to stimulate thought and engage students in an active learning process.
  - Ability to inspire independent and original thinking in beginning and advanced students.
  - Responsiveness and concern for the education and welfare of students.
  - Participation in student advising and mentoring.
  - Guidance of student research projects.
  - Outstanding supervision and mentoring of teaching assistants.
  - Evidence for student success in subsequent academic and career activities.
  - Responsiveness to student diversity, equity and inclusion.

#### **Nomination Process**

Initial nominations for the award will be accepted from any member of the academic community (students, faculty, staff, alumni). A nomination may be put forth by a faculty or staff member, or by a student or group of students. The nomination should discuss reasons for the award to the faculty nominee based on the criteria listed above. **Nominations should be submitted electronically as one PDF packet to the Chair of the Academic Senate** 

# (<u>senatechair@ucmerced.edu</u>) with a copy to (<u>senateoffice@ucmerced.edu</u>), and must include the following:

#### 1. A nomination form.

- 2. **One nomination letter** (maximum of two pages) that highlights the outstanding contributions of the nominee to UCM in undergraduate teaching and mentorship. This letter should be written by a UCM faculty member who is familiar with the nominee's accomplishments in these areas. Faculty with administrative appointments (e.g., deans) may serve as nominators.
- 3. **Three supporting letters** (suggested length two pages) specifically solicited for this nomination.
  - One letter is written by a UCM faculty member.
  - One letter is written by a current or former undergraduate student, not necessarily a research advisee of the nominee.
  - One letter is written by another faculty member, another student or any other individual who has an appropriate professional background to comment on the nominee's undergraduate teaching and/or mentorship (e.g. faculty from other campuses or institutions or other UCM staff).
- 4. A current and complete curriculum vitae.
- 5. Nominee's statement on teaching.
- 6. Nominee's statement on contributions to diversity.

Student teaching evaluations should not be included as part of the nomination package but may be summarized and/or excerpted by writers of nominating or supporting letters.

Based on the nomination materials, supplementary information may be requested of finalists by the UGC Awards Committee. Supporting materials may include course syllabi, teaching evaluations, published textbooks, articles on pedagogy, additional letters of support, and other evidence of exceptional instructional activities. All materials and notes will be held in confidence by the UGC Awards Committee.

#### **Selection Process**

The <u>Undergraduate Council</u> (UGC) will form an ad-hoc committee to serve as the UGC Awards Committee with a **minimum of three Senate faculty**. The UGC Awards Committee will have balanced representation from a range of academic areas and broad school representation, with a Senate faculty Chair. Additional members will include **an administrative representative**, **a student representative**, **and a Unit 18 lecturer representative**. If additional expertise is needed, non-UGC committee members will be appointed by the UGC Chair. The Awards Committee reserves the right to not give an award if there is an insufficient number of nominees, or if nominees do not meet the above criteria for the award.

The UGC Awards Committee will review nominees and members will submit their first choice candidate or their recommendation that no award is merited, to the Chair of the Awards Committee, with a brief justification for either case. The Awards Committee will select a recipient based on majority vote.

The UGC Awards Committee will complete its selection process and inform the Chair of the Academic Senate (senatechair@ucmerced.edu) and the Senate Office (senateoffice@ucmerced.edu) of the results. On the recommendation of the Awards Committee, any finalist may be nominated for the award the following year.

# Deadline for Nominations: 5:00pm, Friday, March 22, 2024.

The announcement of the recipient will be made during the UC Merced Spring Meeting of the Division

# **Past Recipients**

- 2022-2023 Christopher Viney
- 2021-2022 Elaine Denny
- 2020-2021 Holley Moyes
- 2019-2020 <u>Carrie Menke</u>
- 2018-2019 Eric Walle
- 2017-2018 Laura Beaster-Jones and Ashlie Martini
- 2016-2017 Anneeth Kaur Hundle
- 2015-2016 Po-Ya Abel Chuang
- 2014-2015 Jack Vevea and Rudy Ortiz
- 2013-2014 <u>Rose Scott</u>
- 2012-2013 David Ardell
- 2011-2012 Marcos Garcia-Ojeda
- 2010-2011 Sean Malloy
- 2009-2010 Simon Weffer
- 2008-2009 Teenie Matlock